Cut Day Update: Weatherford Wins Punting Job, Other Cuts Made


According to and his agent, Steve Weatherford will be the new punter for the New York Giants. While he does not have the raw strength of Matt Dodge, his accuracy and numbers were slightly better over the seemingly-improved second year player. It’s a tough decision to give up on a young guy so quickly, but remember that Jeff Feagles was the punter prior to 2010. The Giants value experience in this position and, like me, they are probably not convinced that Dodge’s newfound accuracy and confidence will translate in a game that matters.

Weatherford also has the added bonus of being a good holder. This probably means bad news for Sage Rosenfels, who was already on the outside looking in because he missed most of preseason due to illness and injury, and stands to make significantly more money this season than David Carr. Overall, I am happy with this move. The Giants needed to address problems on special teams and I think this will help the rest of the unit have more confidence in their punting game.

Matt Dodge is reportedly being shopped around for a trade, he has not been officially “cut” yet.

Speaking of an improved special teams, we officially no longer need to worry that Darius Reynaud will be returning kicks. He has been waved along with Dodge and 11 other players. The current cut list is below. It seems that, for the time being at least, bubble players Henry Hynoski and Mark Herzlich are poised to make the team.

Here are the final cuts:

1.C Jim Cordle

2.WR Darius Reynaud

3.DE Ayanga Okpokuwuruk

4.OL Ikecheku Ndukwe
5.K Rhys Lloyd

6.DE Craig Marshall

7.TE Chris Hopkins

8.DT Gabe Watson

9.DE Alex Hall

10.S Jerrard Tarrant

11.LB/DE Adrian Tracy

12.TE Daniel Coats

13.P Matt Dodge

14.RB Charles Scott

15.DE Justin Trattou

16.S David Sims

17.S Brian Jackson (waived/injured)

18.DT Dwayne Hendricks

19.RB Andre Brown

20.CB Joe Burnett

21.QB Sage Rosenfels (injured reserve)

22.QB Ryan Perrilloux

23.T Jamon Meredith

24.T Jarriel King

25.WR Michael Clayton

26.C Chris White

27.LB Phillip Dillard

[Source: Star-Ledger]