Strahan, Parcells on List for Hall of Fame


CANTON, Ohio (CBSNewYork/AP) — Four linemen in their first year of eligibility, including single-season sacks record holder Michael Strahan, are among 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Hall announced Friday that defensive end Strahan and defensive tackle Warren Sapp made the cut, along with tackle Jonathan Ogden and guard-tackle Larry Allen.

Other finalists are running back Jerome Bettis; receivers Cris Carter, Tim Brown and Andre Reed; LB-DEs Charles Haley and Kevin Greene; guard Will Shields; defensive back Aeneas Williams; coach Bill Parcells; and owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

Unlike baseball, the NFL has no shortage of players ready to be honored by being inducted into their Hall of Fame.  A quick read of the names above suggests they will have a long list of deserving men for years to come.  Even the somewhat borderline players such as Jerome Bettis, Cris Carter and Kevin Greene garner discussion and a case can be made for all of them to be included someday.  This class is particularly strong with Super Bowl Champions Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp, and Bill Parcells.  The one side note that would have made this class even more interesting….If Brett Favre had stayed retired the first time he left….this would have been his year to enter along with Strahan and Sapp, two players he will always be closely linked with in history.

Please take a moment to vote in the poll on the side of the website.