Giants Elect Team Captains


The Giants announced today the election of Team Captains for the season.  These are voted on by the players, the team picks three captains each week usually representing offense, defense, and special teams.  Nice to see the balance of this team with the election of two defensive captains, one offensive captain, and of course the legacy member of the group, Steve DeOssie for Special Teams.

The players voted to retain incumbent captains Eli Manning, Justin Tuck and Zak DeOssie and also elected guard Chris Snee and safety Antrel Rolle.

"“These guys were all elected by the players,” coach Tom Coughlin said. “Am I happy they were selected? Yes, I am because I think the number one thing is always ‘team’ and people have to lead by example, first, and ‘well done is better than well said.’ Yet, through the course of the long and difficult, challenging season, you’re going to see an opportunity for people to show what they’re made of in good and bad and that’s where leadership comes from. Adversity, remember, makes you stronger, according to John Wooden.”"

Five captains is the Giants’ highest total since 2008. Asked if he encouraged the players to add two additional captains, Coughlin said, “No, it just comes by virtue of the votes.

”The Giants’ captains since 2007:
2007: Eli Manning, Shaun O’Hara, Michael Strahan, Antonio Pierce, Jeff Feagles
2008: Manning, Amani Toomer, Pierce, Fred Robbins, Feagles
2009: Manning, Pierce, Feagles
2010: Manning, Justin Tuck, Chase Blackburn
2011: Manning, Tuck, Zak DeOssie
2012: Manning, Tuck, DeOssie
2013: Manning, Chris Snee, Tuck, Antrel Rolle, DeOssie

For Rolle this is a big day as he really has lived up to the expectations the Giants had for him when they brought him over from Arizona.  Here’s what I had to say about him in a previous post: Antrel Rolle